Albert Camus

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

Friday, February 10, 2023

discover the mysterious, war-torn realm of Geadhain... Four Feasts Till Darkness Series by Christian A. Brown

Lauded by the critics as "unmissable," "unputdownable," "lavish," and "poetic," Feasts heralds the arrival of a unique new voice in dark fantasy.
"An unmissable dark fantasy romance,"—Kirkus (starred review)


Leap into the mysterious, war-torn realm of Geadhain, where psychic witches clash with technocratic, godlike kings. A Lovecraftian world of steam, sorcery, romance and ancient mystery. The complete, spellbinding Four Feasts till Darkness omnibus, a veritable literary feast spanning five volumes and over 1.1 million words, is now available for your consumption in a single digital package.


1.) Morigan as she enters Caenith's shop in the opening pages of Feast of Fates. I'm not a romance novelist. While the relationship between Morigan and Caenith (the Wolf) initially starts as a star-crossed affair, it took two drafts to arrive at this point. Originally, I had them far more adversarial in tone and interactions. However, it became difficult to keep them together under the series of catastrophes that befalls them quite soon into the novel. Indeed, beginning their storyline from a place of almost fairytale romance, then throwing every horrible wrench and monster I could at them to see if they would break, resulted in a steadfast, legendary partnership. After five books and an epic journey, it turns out I am a bit of a romantic but still not a romance novelist—I'm way too macabre for that.

2.) Morigan and Mouse's first meeting in Feast of Fates. Romantic love isn't the only type of love explored in the series. Indeed, the friendship between Morigan and Mouse is crucial to the fabric of the story. They meet during a crisis, forming an opportunistic partnership. An arc of sisterhood and true friendship slowly develops from this encounter, especially on the part of Mouse. Until her encounter with Morigan, she existed as an embittered, selfishly motivated survivor. By the series’ end, she’s nearly unrecognizable. Still herself, I suppose, only better—as we all strive to be. 

3.) The pyroclastic finale to the second novel, Feast of Dreams. Here, we see Lila's transition from a sympathetic victim to a genocidal madwoman. In the words of a reviewer: "Nowhere is this (shades of morality) more evident than with poor Queen Lila. The way Brown nudges her character forward, ever so slowly, so subtly, that her downfall comes as the only logical option for her, no matter how sad the outcome."

4.) Lila's redemption arc, culminating in her judgement before a tribunal of wrathful spirits in Feast of Darkness. As with many of the characters in the series, she's given the opportunity for redemption—even for the atrocities she's committed by this point. The play between good and evil, and the consequences of making even what you believe to be the best decision at the time that has catastrophic results, are recurring themes in Four Feasts till Darkness

5.) The Sisters of St. Celcita. A strange crossbreed of archetypes between Mrs. Marple and Wednesday Adams, the Sisters of St. Celcita, first introduced in Feast of Chaos through Lila's storyline, became effortless and entertaining characters to write. As nurses to the city's ailing, diseased, addicted, and mentally unwell population, they've developed a thick skin and sharp wit to deal with the incessant horrors of the lives they try to save. If I had to pick one scene where Sister Abagail—the lead of their order—shone, it would be where she helps Lila and her fellow fugitive as they arrive, harried by city guards, on her doorstep. The nun shows no shock at Lila's revelations; her composure suggests that she's privy to more mysteries than the fallen Queen of Eod, or readers, suspected. 

Read Them All

Book #1 - Feast of Fates 

Book #2 - Feast of Dreams 

Book #3 - Feast of Chaos 

Book #4 Part I - Feast of Darkness

Book #4 Part II - Feast of Darkness, Part II 

Complete Boxset: 

Read all of the eBooks for FREE with a 
About the author:
Bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Feast of Fates, Christian A. Brown received a Kirkus star in 2014 for the first novel in his genre-changing Four Feasts Till Darkness series. He has appeared on Newstalk 1010, AM640, Daytime Rogers, and Get Bold Today with LeGrande Green. He actively writes a blog about his mother’s journey with cancer and on gender issues in the media.

A lover of the weird and wonderful, Brown considers himself an eccentric with a talent for cat-whispering.

Author's (US+Canada) Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Michael Law said...

This looks likeca fantastic read! Thank you.

Debbi Wellenstein said...

Thank you for the giveaway!