<>

Albert Camus

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Perfect for you - The Wall Series by Alison Ingleby

★★★★★ “I haven’t been this hooked on a dystopian series since The Hunger Games and Divergent.” (#1)
★★★★★ "I loved this book and can't wait to read the next one!" (#3)
★★★★★ "This series just gets better and better." (#3)

Description:

Expendables (#1)

One girl. A corrupt government. A secret that could shatter a country.

What would you sacrifice to discover the truth?

For twelve years, Aleesha has survived as an illegal citizen in poverty-stricken Area Four. She lives by one rule – trust no one.

When her illegal status is discovered, Aleesha is forced to join a mysterious organisation intent on taking down the corrupt government. Then she’s introduced to Trey, an Insider who’s been brought up with everything she longs for: wealth, privilege, education.

An Insider who, like her, is being hunted by the government’s sinister militia.

Aleesha wants to hate him. But Trey may be the only person who can help her find her father – the man who could be her ticket out of poverty. If she can learn to trust him.

But discovering the truth comes at a terrible price. And too late, Aleesha and Trey realize that they’re just pawns in a much bigger game…

From USA Today Bestselling Author, Alison Ingleby, The Wall Series is an emotional rollercoaster packed with heart-pounding adventure, vivid characters and slow-burn romance. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth and Marie Lu.

EXCERPT

“Tell me, Aleesha, why does the Wall exist?”
The question takes me aback. “To stop us getting Inside. To keep us separate.”
“Yes, but why? Why does there have to be Outsiders and Insiders?”
I find myself squirming slightly under his gaze. “’Cos they want to keep everything for themselves. All the food, all the water, and with the Wall there they don’t even have to look at us. They can pretend like we don’t even exist.” The words spill out and I sound so harsh, so bitter, that I surprise myself.
Bryn nods and stands back, seemingly satisfied. “Well, you’re in the right place, then. We want to break down the barriers between those who live on either side of the Wall. Make London society more equal.”
Interesting. I wonder what rank this guy has in the Chain. Murdoch defers to him, but from the look on his face, Bryn’s told me a lot more than he thinks I should know.
“You’ll go through the Wall together tomorrow. Meet at Pollard Square at nine.” Murdoch stands up straight and leans slightly towards the door, clearly eager to get away.
I glance over at the boy. Trey. He wanders to the window, in a world of his own.
“Oh, I forgot to mention,” Bryn says. “The Metz are after Trey. You’ll need to go carefully to avoid them.”
I roll my eyes. Well this is going to be a party. It’s hard enough keeping one person away from the Metz, and by the look of him, this kid will only be a liability. They’ll spot him a mile away with that hair; it lights him up like a bloody beacon. “Great.”
I push myself off the wall and turn to Bryn. “Nice meeting you.”
He nods in reply, but his gaze is still on the boy standing by the window.
“You too, Trey. See you tomorrow!” I raise my voice slightly and the boy starts. As he turns, he disturbs the net curtains and sunlight peeks through into the room. It lights up his hair, making it glow around his face. It reminds me of a picture my mother once showed me in an ancient book. An angel, that was it. A messenger of hope.
I stifle a laugh as I turn to leave, toying with my own dark braid.
I don’t believe in angels. Or hope.


Infiltrators (#2) 

They thought the truth would bring people together. Instead, they started a war.

When Aleesha and Trey hand over the secret files they found in the basement of the government headquarters to the media, they hope it will bring Insiders and Outsiders together. United, they would have the power to rebel against the oppressive government.

They're wrong.

While the Insiders turn their backs, protected by the Wall that divides the city, Outsiders rebel in the only way they know how: riots, death and destruction.

As London erupts in violence, taking down the government's sinister militia seems to be the only viable course of action. But what Aleesha finds inside the Metz compound will change her life – and her relationship with Trey – forever.

Join Aleesha and Trey as they fight for truth, justice and freedom in dystopian London. With fast-paced action, romance, danger, intrigue and one kick-ass heroine, you won’t want to put it down!
Fear radiates through me, freezing the air in my lungs. All the memories I’d faced in the dark hours of the morning return, along with others that were buried even deeper, as if each memory I face unearths another one. Wave after wave of emotions wash over me. Anger, shame, desperation, defeat. 
I push back against them, fighting for control of my body. She is here. And she doesn’t know what’s about to happen. But I do.

Defenders (#3)

The battle for control of Area Four is over. Or is it?

Aleesha is determined to give the captured Metz officers a chance to change. But as tensions rise between Outsider gangs and the newly freed officers, events take a devastating turn and Aleesha is forced to confront her darkest fears.

Still reeling from the battle of Rose Square, Trey has his own decision to make. Does he remain Outside or listen to his mother's pleas and return to his family's aid?

Forced to decide between family and friends, duty and their hearts, Aleesha and Trey must decide which path to choose and if that path involves each other.

The explosive third book in The Wall Series features complex plot twists, heart-stopping fight scenes, romance and betrayal, plus all the characters you've come to love. Will they all survive? One-click to find out.

“How can you live with yourself? Knowing what you’ve done?” My voice is a whisper on the breeze. Silence surrounds us. My hand trembles on the knife handle. 
If you’re not prepared to kill him, you’ll die. But I can’t do it. Can’t plunge the blade into the throat of a man who lies at my mercy. One stab is all it would take. But still, my hand falters.

Liberators (#4)

When it comes down to it, what do you do – protect your family or follow your heart?

Captured by the government, Aleesha is slated for execution. Only her father can save her, but doing so will put the Chain's plans in jeopardy. Is it worth risking the future of a country to save the life of one girl?

As Trey investigates the mysterious additive in the Outsiders' food supply, his sinister boss closes in. Acting on his suspicions could risk his incarceration and his family's safety. But can he turn a blind eye to the truth?

As the balance of power shifts and alliances are made and broken, Aleesha and Trey must decide who to trust.

Because trust risks betrayal.

And betrayal means death.

Get your copy of the nail-biting conclusion to The Wall Series today and find out how the story ends.
I stare at his face, memorizing the faint creases on his forehead, the colour of his eyes, the way his lips twitch at the corners. I drink him in as if he were a life-giving elixir, creating a photograph in my mind that I will never forget. 
Then I drop my hand and turn to walk away.

About the author:
Alison Ingleby is a USA Today bestselling author of sci-fi and fantasy fiction. She loves writing cross-genre books featuring complex characters, twisting plots and fast-paced action with a dash of romance.

When not writing, Alison enjoys reading, drinking tea and spending time outdoors. She lives in Yorkshire, England, but her heart loiters by the sea in north-west Scotland.

You can find out more about Alison, sign up to her Readers' Club and get a free story by visiting her website:


Author's Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

11 comments:

Dale Wilken said...

The books sound great.

lildevilgirl22 said...

I love the cover art

tetewa said...

Enjoyed the post!

Alison Ingleby said...

Thank you for sharing! :-)

Michele S. said...

Really like the titles and the covers....

CJ said...

Looks like an intriguing series to read. Nice covers and thanks for sharing the excerpt with us! :)

Bridgett Wilbur said...

I just love your covers.

Robin A said...

The covers look great.

Nancy Payette said...

Fabulous covers

Alison Ingleby said...

Thanks for the lovely comments about the covers! I hope some of you give the series a go. :)

Anna Josefin Bergman said...

Sounds good.